Why do you love the Na Mokulua Islands?

I love the Mokes Islands and all the memorable moments associated with them. This is why I created jewelry pieces around them. Every time I see these pieces they remind me of all the fun memories I have of the Mokes islands. The islands probably have a great story for you too (maybe that is why you are reading this right now?). I hear so many stories from customers just like you about their experiences, their families experiences and their love for the Na Mokuluas. If you are just learning about this awesome place keep reading! And if you have a great story, please share in the comments below!

Na Mokulua Earrings and Necklace
Na Mokulua Earrings and Necklace

The Mokes Islands are located slightly less than a mile off the coast of Lani Kai Beach, and are pretty easy to get to by boat, kayak, outrigger canoe, or SUP. My favorite way to get there? Swim! I know, it seems far but I swear it’s not that bad with fins and a snorkel. Also, about 3/4 of the way there you will find some of the most amazingly beautiful reef structure. It looks like a maze of tunnels that wonderfully colorful fish swim in and out of. Spectacular!

How to build a raft in 4 steps... ending in sinking the raft
How to build a raft… ending in sinking the raft

One of my first and favorite trips out to the islands was aboard a bamboo raft that my friends and I created. We lashed it together and threw it in the water… one person could float on it, 2, 3, 4… but 5 sank it. Some people with a boat took pity on us and offered us a tow to the island. I held onto the tow line while one of the guys held onto me and braced the front of the raft. They were even nice enough to give us a tow back at the end of the day (after watching us struggle to paddle back to shore!). It was a great day, even though I was stung about five times by jelly fish… not an exaggeration!

Hike the pillboxes at sunrise or midday.
Hike the pillboxes at sunrise or midday.

The Pill Box hike above Lanikai is another great way to enjoy the islands. The best time of day? Sunrise! This hike can be crazy hot at midday so I recommend going at sunrise when it is still nice and cool. Watching the sunrise from behind the Mokes is spectacular! If you do start your hike before sunrise, remember to bring a headlamp. Your gonna have to start your hike in the dark! I forgot mine once and had to make the climb with only one hand… the other was holding my cell phone flashlight. I don’t recommend it!

Do you love the Na Mokulua Islands as much as I do? Click on the link HERE to view the Na Mokulua earrings and HERE to view the double bangles. What is your favorite memory of the Mokes? Please share in the comments below or on Facebook.

Aloha! -Morgan

Leave a Reply

